State Gun Laws for Florida
Florida State Gun And Self-Defense Laws: YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL. *Always Consult An Attorney.
home, workplace, occupied vehicle.
How to obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Florida
The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services is responsible for the issuance of Concealed Weapon or Firearm Licenses in accordance with Section 790.06, Florida Statutes. CLICK HERE:
Instructions are available online for a Concealed Weapon or Firearm License or by contacting any of their regional offices. If you need help you can call: (850) 245-5691
All applicants must provide a CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION from a firearms training class or other acceptable training document that evidences your competency with a firearm. There are businesses throughout Florida that provide both the state required training and applications.
The cost of the license is $112.00. (This fee INCLUDES the $42 fingerprint processing fee) All payments have to be made to the Division of Licensing at the time your application is submitted. As the Division of Licensing does not accept cash, this amount is payable via check or money order ONLY.
Florida Sate Gun Laws Vary From All Other States
State gun laws vary significantly from in Florida to all other states. The laws identify different gun related laws including the possession, the use, and the sale of firearms and ammunition, and in some states it even regulates accessories that can be used on the gun including the capacity of magazine sizes for both semi-automatic rifles, shotguns, and handguns. Also, many states even including Florida have regulations regarding the number of rounds that can be in a shotgun tube or magazine. (For Hunting) There are even specific gun laws unique to the District of Columbia and for US held territories.
Many state gun laws are even more restrictive than federal laws in both their content, their form, and the restriction of what types of weapons and ammunition can be sold within the state and the manner in which they can be possessed by state or territorial residents. It is vital that all residents of Florida know ALL of the State Gun Laws!
As of 2019 there are 44 states that have some special provisions in their state constitutions that are very similar in language used in the second amendment of the United States Constitution, specifically language which protects the citizens of the State the rights to keep and bear arms.
In Florida As In All States You Must Know The Gun Laws
The states which are well known to be anti-gun, and seem to have obvious political leanings against the Second Amendment are New York, California, New Jersey, Iowa, Minnesota and Maryland. Luckily, in the US supreme court decision of McDonald vs. Chicago; That the protections of the Second Amendment to keep and bear arms for self defense in one’s home apply against state governments and their politically motivated provisions, thereby preventing a state from abolishing completely any second amendment protections afforded by the US Constitution.
Typically, and in many cases State Gun Laws (Firearms) of Florida are usually less restrictive than federal laws yet is not always the case, and one must be aware of these restrictions anytime they are purchasing or carrying a firearm in Florida especially while using a concealed carry permit and traveling between states. There are many states that have reciprocity agreements and Florida may be one of them, the recipocity are very specific on what states your particular permit will be accepted and recognized.
If You Travel From Florida With A Gun Know The Recipocity Laws!
Keep in mind that although your Florida permit may have a reciprocity agreement with a state you plan to visit the visiting state may have individual gun restrictions preventing your particular firearm or type of ammunition from being in their state, it is always wise to do your homework before traveling, keep in mind that a reciprocity CCW permit is not a blanket approval.
Remember this does not automatically include any de jure immunity against prosecution for violating any Florida state gun laws or possible violations of any federal gun laws!
It should be noted that Florida state and local police departments are generally not legally required or obligated to enforce federal gun laws as per the US Supreme Court ruling in Printz vs. The United States.
Getting A Weapons Permit In Florida Then you Need A Protection Plan!
Please Join Us On Our Instagram Page!