State Gun Laws for Texas
Texas State Gun And Self-Defense Laws: YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL. *Always Consult An Attorney.
home, workplace, occupied vehicle.
How to obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Texas
The Texas Department of Public Safety administers the Texas Concealed Handgun Licensing (CHL) Program under the authority of the Texas Government Code Chapter 411, Subchapter H. DPS licenses individuals to carry concealed handguns within Texas, evaluates the eligibility of applicants through criminal history background checks and monitors those currently licensed to ensure their continued eligibility. DPS also trains and certifies instructors who teach the required course to applicants. FOR LICENSING INFO, CLICK HERE
A training class is required; An individual can apply on-line with DPS after taking the class, or apply at the time you take your CHL class at any state approved instructional business.
The State requires only that the gun be legally-obtained, and that you carry only the category of handgun with which you qualified in class. If you use a revolver in class, then you may legally carry only a revolver. If you qualify with a semiautomatic pistol, then you may carry either a revolver or a semiautomatic pistol.
For Texas residents, the license will cost $140. Yet for senior citizens or indigent Texans, the cost is only $70. For active/honorably retired peace officers or active/retired judicial officers, the cost is $25. For elected felony prosecuting attorneys the fee is waived.
TEXAS STATE LAW LIBRARY - TEXAS STATE GUN LAWS
TEXAS License To Carry Texas Handgun Laws
Texas Sate Gun Laws Vary From All Other States
State gun laws vary significantly from in Texas to all other states. The laws identify different gun related laws including the possession, the use, and the sale of firearms and ammunition, and in some states it even regulates accessories that can be used on the gun including the capacity of magazine sizes for both semi-automatic rifles, shotguns, and handguns. Also, many states even including Texas have regulations regarding the number of rounds that can be in a shotgun tube or magazine. (For Hunting) There are even specific gun laws unique to the District of Columbia and for US held territories.
Many state gun laws are even more restrictive than federal laws in both their content, their form, and the restriction of what types of weapons and ammunition can be sold within the state and the manner in which they can be possessed by state or territorial residents. It is vital that all residents of Texas know ALL of the State Gun Laws!
As of 2019 there are 44 states that have some special provisions in their state constitutions that are very similar in language used in the second amendment of the United States Constitution, specifically language which protects the citizens of the State the rights to keep and bear arms.
In Texas As In All States You Must Know The Gun Laws
The states which are well known to be anti-gun, and seem to have obvious political leanings against the Second Amendment are New York, California, New Jersey, Iowa, Minnesota and Maryland. Luckily, in the US supreme court decision of McDonald vs. Chicago; That the protections of the Second Amendment to keep and bear arms for self defense in one’s home apply against state governments and their politically motivated provisions, thereby preventing a state from abolishing completely any second amendment protections afforded by the US Constitution.
Typically, and in many cases State Gun Laws (Firearms) of Texas are usually less restrictive than federal laws yet is not always the case, and one must be aware of these restrictions anytime they are purchasing or carrying a firearm in Texas especially while using a concealed carry permit and traveling between states. There are many states that have reciprocity agreements and Texas may be one of them, the recipocity are very specific on what states your particular permit will be accepted and recognized.
If You Travel From Texas With A Gun Know The Recipocity Laws!
Keep in mind that although your Texas permit may have a reciprocity agreement with a state you plan to visit the visiting state may have individual gun restrictions preventing your particular firearm or type of ammunition from being in their state, it is always wise to do your homework before traveling, keep in mind that a reciprocity CCW permit is not a blanket approval.
Remember this does not automatically include any de jure immunity against prosecution for violating any Texas state gun laws or possible violations of any federal gun laws!
It should be noted that Texas state and local police departments are generally not legally required or obligated to enforce federal gun laws as per the US Supreme Court ruling in Printz vs. The United States.
Please Join Us On Our Instagram Page!