State Gun Laws for Utah
Utah State Gun And Self-Defense Laws: YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL. *Always Consult An Attorney.
home, workplace, occupied vehicle.
How to obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Utah
* A permit is required to carry a concealed weapon, No state permit is required to possess a rifle, shotgun or handgun.
76-2-402. Force in defense of person -- Forcible felony defined.
76-2-407. Deadly force in defense of persons on real property.
Concealed Firearms permits in the State of Utah are regulated by the Bureau of Criminal Identification. A permit to carry a concealed firearm in the State of Utah may be obtained by completing the instructions, and meeting the requirements as outlined on Form 96-4-02 Application for Concealed Firearm Permit.
The application fees for the CFP (CCW) is $57.00 for in state applicants and $67.00 for out of state applicants.
All applicants must take a Utah state approved training class from an approved instructor.
This is a link to the application form, Click Application Form
This is a link to the list of authorized instructors, Click Authorized Instructors
On-Line RENEWAL form for Instructors, Instructor Renewal Form
This is a link to the RENEWAL form, Click Renewal Form
For any questions for the BCI Firearms Division, you may contact them by phone: (801) 965-4445
Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification 3888 W 5400 S Taylorsville Utah 84129
How do I Apply for a UTAH Concealed Firearm Permit?
Where to Apply:
Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 West 5400 South
Salt Lake City, Utah 84129
Applications will be accepted through the mail or in person, from 8:00 am until 5:00 pm at the above location.
What Will it Cost to Apply?
The fees to apply for a concealed firearm permit are $57.00 for Utah residents and $67.00 for non-residents. Please make checks and money orders payable to the “Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification.”
Who is Eligible?
*Minimum requirements for application for a concealed firearms permit in Utah are:
- Applicant must be at least 21 years of age
- Proof of good character…whereas the applicant;
- has not been convicted of a felony;
- has not been convicted of any crime of violence;
- has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol;
- has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances;
- has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude;
- has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence;
- has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed
- is qualified to purchase and possess a firearm pursuant to Section 76-10-503 and federal law
*A criminal background check is conducted for all applicants.
What Must Accompany the Application?
- A Photocopy of your state issued Driver License
- Photograph. One recent color photograph of passport quality. *Photos may be taken at the Bureau of Criminal Identification for a $15 fee.
- Non-resident proof of permit. If you reside in a state that recognizes the validity of the Utah CFP or has reciprocity with Utah, you must obtain a CFP or CCW from your home state and submit a copy of it with your application for a Utah permit. For a list of reciprocal states click here. You are considered a resident of whichever state issued your ID. If your state does not recognize the Utah permit this does not apply.
- Fingerprint Card. One fingerprint card. Must be filled out completely. Click here for an example. Writing and prints must be legible. Fingerprint should be taken by a trained fingerprint technician. Fingerprint cards that are not legible will be returned to the applicant and will cause a delay in processing the application.
*Fingerprint services are available from BCI or may be offered through your local law enforcement agency. There are private businesses that also offer this service. Check in your local phone directory. Photos and fingerprints may be obtained at the Bureau of Criminal Identification (3888 W 5400 S, Taylorsville, UT.) The cost is $15.00 for 1 photo and $15.00 for up to 3 fingerprint cards.
- Weapon Familiarity Certification. Applicants must complete a firearms familiarity course certified by BCI. No exceptions. The course must be completed before you apply for a permit. Please have your instructor complete the certification information on the application. View a list of: (in-state) (out-of-state) certified instructors.
NRA Link for a map of CONCEALED CARRY RECIPROCITY
Official State of Utah List of States that Honor Utah Permits: CLICK HERE In accordance with U.C.A. 76-10-523, Utah will honor a permit to carry a concealed firearm issued by any other state or county.
Gun laws in Utah regulate the sale, possession, and use of firearms and ammunition in the state of Utah in the United States.
Utah's firearm laws are some of the more permissive in the United States. Utah's firearms laws are intended to protect the second amendment rights of its law-abiding citizens, while at the same time ensuring the safety of the general public. A 2013 study ranked Utah the lowest among all 50 states in the category of gun control legislation. Under Utah law, violent crimes with firearms, criminal possession of firearms, and criminal negligence with firearms may all be prosecuted as felonies, and strictly punished under state law.
Utah Concealed Firearm Permit Frequently Asked Questions
If I get stopped by a police officer, do I, as a permit holder, have to tell the officer that I have a gun in my possession?
Although there is no legal requirement to identify yourself to a law enforcement officer, it is recommended to do so.
If an officer finds or sees a gun on your person during their contact with you, and you have not identified yourself as a permit holder in legal possession of a firearm, the officer may assume you are carrying the gun illegally and may take defensive action. For the safety of all involved, it is recommended to immediately identify yourself to the officer as a permit holder in possession of a handgun. This action gives the officer some assurance they are most likely dealing with a law abiding citizen.
Is there any way that I can check to see if my criminal history will prevent me from obtaining a concealed firearm permit BEFORE I go through the whole process of applying?
Yes. You can come into our office or call by phone and ask to speak with one of the investigators. If you explain to the investigator what type of problem you have had, he can give you a good idea whether you qualify for a concealed firearm permit or not.
Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 West 5400 South
Taylorsville, Utah 84129
(801) 965-4445, option “3”
The concealed firearm permit allows an individual to carry a firearm fully loaded and concealed. The permit also allows an individual to carry a firearm into public schools. Permit holders can not carry a firearm into federal or state restricted areas i.e. any airport secured area, federal facilities, courts, correctional & mental health facilities, law enforcement secured areas, a house of worship or private residence where notice given and/or posted, any secured area in which firearms are prohibited and notice posted, or otherwise prohibited by state of federal law.
Naturally, private property owners may apply whatever restrictions they want. Whether or not these restrictions violate one’s constitutional rights is for the civil courts to decide. But the only statutory restrictions on a permit holder are secured areas such as airports and federal buildings.
There is nothing in state statute that prohibits permit holders from being in a bar with a concealed firearm. However, it is illegal to be intoxicated and in possession of a firearm. The level of intoxication that is considered illegal is the same standard as when driving a car. (.08 B.A.C.)
Any action you take with a gun must be in direct self-defense; otherwise, it may be considered threatening with a dangerous weapon and you could be labeled as the aggressor. You may be criminally charged and you will possibly have your permit to carry a concealed firearm revoked. Carrying a firearm is very serious business. There is no room for mistakes. If you pull a firearm on someone or even display the weapon, then it must be in self defense or it is not justified.
No. Any U.S. citizen or legal resident (with the intent to reside in the United States) may obtain a Utah concealed firearm permit, providing they meet the minimum qualifications. View the minimum qualifications.
A valid Utah concealed firearm permit may be used to waive the BCI background check and the corresponding fees. However, the dealer is still required to call BCI to confirm the validity of the concealed firearm permit.
Contact Us and let us know how we can improve this page!
Utah Sate Gun Laws Vary From All Other States
State gun laws vary significantly from in Utah to all other states. The laws identify different gun related laws including the possession, the use, and the sale of firearms and ammunition, and in some states it even regulates accessories that can be used on the gun including the capacity of magazine sizes for both semi-automatic rifles, shotguns, and handguns. Also, many states even including Utah have regulations regarding the number of rounds that can be in a shotgun tube or magazine. (For Hunting) There are even specific gun laws unique to the District of Columbia and for US held territories.
Many state gun laws are even more restrictive than federal laws in both their content, their form, and the restriction of what types of weapons and ammunition can be sold within the state and the manner in which they can be possessed by state or territorial residents. It is vital that all residents of Utah know ALL of the State Gun Laws!
As of 2019 there are 44 states that have some special provisions in their state constitutions that are very similar in language used in the second amendment of the United States Constitution, specifically language which protects the citizens of the State the rights to keep and bear arms.
In Utah As In All States You Must Know The Gun Laws
The states which are well known to be anti-gun, and seem to have obvious political leanings against the Second Amendment are New York, California, New Jersey, Iowa, Minnesota and Maryland. Luckily, in the US supreme court decision of McDonald vs. Chicago; That the protections of the Second Amendment to keep and bear arms for self defense in one’s home apply against state governments and their politically motivated provisions, thereby preventing a state from abolishing completely any second amendment protections afforded by the US Constitution.
Typically, and in many cases State Gun Laws (Firearms) of Utah are usually less restrictive than federal laws yet is not always the case, and one must be aware of these restrictions anytime they are purchasing or carrying a firearm in Utah especially while using a concealed carry permit and traveling between states. There are many states that have reciprocity agreements and Utah may be one of them, the recipocity are very specific on what states your particular permit will be accepted and recognized.
If You Travel From Utah With A Gun Know The Recipocity Laws!
Keep in mind that although your Utah permit may have a reciprocity agreement with a state you plan to visit the visiting state may have individual gun restrictions preventing your particular firearm or type of ammunition from being in their state, it is always wise to do your homework before traveling, keep in mind that a reciprocity CCW permit is not a blanket approval.
Remember this does not automatically include any de jure immunity against prosecution for violating any Utah state gun laws or possible violations of any federal gun laws!
It should be noted that Utah state and local police departments are generally not legally required or obligated to enforce federal gun laws as per the US Supreme Court ruling in Printz vs. The United States.
Getting A Weapons Permit In Utah Then you Need A Protection Plan!
Please Join Us On Our Instagram Page!